top of page

About The Cardinal Newman Trust

In 2016 and again in 2019, Bishop Declan shared his vision for all his schools to work together and undertake a due diligence exercise in readiness for the establishment of Catholic Multi Academy Trusts (MATs) across the diocese. His reason for doing this was to respond to the changes in the educational landscape and “ensure Catholic education is sustainable and remains true to its key principles for the generations of pupils now and yet to come”. His directive was: “All schools are to be in a Multi-Academy Trust (MAT) or academy ready by 2021 with academy ready meaning the point at which schools have completed sufficient preparation to enable/facilitate formal commitment to the academy process when appropriate.” As a next step, all the Bishop’s schools joined one of seven partnerships.

The Trust Family

The Newman Catholic Trust is a family of four primary schools serving catchment areas across Bristol and North Somerset. The schools are:

  • St Bernard's Catholic Primary School - Shirehampton 

  • St Francis Catholic Primary School - Nailsea 

  • St Nicholas of Tolentine Catholic Primary School - Easton 

  • St Teresa's Catholic Primary School - Filton


The total potential combined pupil population of the Newman Catholic Trust is 840 pupils with each school providing a wonderful, unique and distinctive offering to its local community. To learn more about each school, please visit their websites below: 

StFrancis website school pic.JPG
StBernards website school pic.JPG
StNicholas website school pic.JPG
StTeresas website school pic.JPG

The board of directors are appointed by the founder members of the MAT and the Clifton Diocese.

Registered Company Number: 13306140 

To view our details on the government 'Get Information about Schools' site please click here 

To view our details held with Companies House please click here 

St Francis - Charitable Giving.jpg
bottom of page